Mon 14 May 2018 19:47

Pocklington RUFC held its annual dinner and awards night in the clubhouse.

After club president, Angus Mitchell, opened the evening's proceedings, Chris French took over as master of ceremonies and introduced the three senior captains who outlined their seasons and named their individual trophy winners with an erudite mixture of wit, humour, passion and phlegmatism. There were also plaudits for the many behind the scenes volunteers and support staff, particularly physios, bar and kitchen staff.

Pilgrims' skipper Wayne Grainger gave his awards to Matthew Tostevin (young player), rugby league convert Johnny Marwood (most improved), Sam Wright (player's player) and Matt Pringle (player of year).

Panthers' captain Shane Sellers took over to name Sam Pattison (young player), Michael Gilbank (most improved), Charles Taylor (player's player) and Josh Papa (player of year).

The 1st XV brought up the rear with Ben Rees relating his fourth season at the helm. The awards were: Jack Walters (young player), David Davison (most improved), Archie Fothergill (player's player) and Owen Jackson (player of year).

The evening concluded with the club awards. Shane Sellers was the Pock 7s man of the day and he also received the Team of the Year cup for the Panthers, unbeaten in a league game at home since December 2015. After being promoted last season they stepped up a level to be the top team in the Yorkshire South Conference, but the Pocklington Team of the Year award was a close run thing as they had serious opposition from the champion Colts and the unbeaten Under 14s.

In a season where it was tough going, often in adversity, head coach Mat Webber was clubman of the year.

news articles